Carthusian or Cartujanos

At least according to a legend, approximately at the same timealso the history of the Carthusian horses, long time considered as purebred strain, took its course. In 1476 a Don Alvaro Obertus de la Valeto bequeathed the monks of the Carthusian order 40-odd square kilometers of land outside the city Jerez de la Frontera. Many authors believe that the breeding of the Carthusian horses began at about the same time when the monks took over this piece of land. However, Juan Altamirano cited in his book “Historia y Origen del Caballo Espanyol” (history and origin of the Spanish horse) old documents, indicating that in 1588 the livestock of the monastery at a yearly cattle count is specified with four horses. If there would have been, as the legend claims, already a thriving breeding of Carthusians, Philip II., on his concrete search of particularly qualitative horses, would have bought certainly horses from the monastery, which later has become so famous for his breeding: this is however not mentioned in any document.

It is however likely, that the breeding of the Carthusian monks began around 1730, when they impounded the horses of a debtor: those from Pedro Picasso namely, who in turn in 1682 had taken over the breeding of the Zamora brothers. The Zamoranos, how were called the horses of this breed, were considered of particular type and quality. It is however not known from where do they come from. Accordingly, it is actually not possible to talk in good conscience about the five-hundred purebreds of the Carthusian horse. In the best case, if pure breeding can be considered, thies would be considerably younger.

After the French invasion in 1808 in Spain, Napoleon commandeered everywhere valuable breeding material, to use it as new blood for the breeds at home. However, due to breeding stubbornness or fanaticism, the Carthusian monks successfully secured a large amount of their horses to spare them this fate and to save their valuable horse stock. In 1834 all church properties were nationalized, and thus the Carthusian monks from Jerez were finally yet again forced to give up their breeding “Carthusian horse” or “Cartujanos”. The monks gave parts of their stud to various breeders from larger Jerez de la Frontera area.

An essential part of the Carthusian Stud has apparently been sold in 1835 to Fr. D. Pedro José Zapata y Caro, the founder of the Hospital of Areos de la Frontera. This Stud held the famous Bocado brand in the shape of a curb bit, which exists until today. It is not clear however to which extent the purity of the Carthusian breed have been continued by Zapata. The Zapatas covered the Carthusian mares with stallions which they already possessed himself and not originating from the breeding of the monks. In 1854 Vicente Romero Garcia took over the breeding of Zapatas, who in a letter to his friend and Portuguese Hippologist Ruy d Andrade tells that he had again crossed the Zapateros with horses of pure Spanish breed from his father’s, after all very fine original breeding. Vicente Romero added a “C” brand to his stock next to the plain curb bit: since then, there are two old curb bit brands. For a long time, especially these two brands played a role for the naming of “Cartujanos”, for which the expression “Andalusians” were no longer used for this bloodline. The curb bit brand – with or without a C – was and is, due to the reputed legendary quality of these horses, outstandingly requested. Younger breedings using this fire were Osborne Fernando de Terry, Isabel Merello Viuda de Terry, as well as the Rumasa S.A. and today the State-owned company Expasa.

Fernando de Terry 1949 came into the possession of the coveted brand, died however a few years later in 1952. His widow kept the brand until 1981. Then, the Rumasa holding S.A. took over the stud, which was after its bankruptcy for many years on sale. Not before 1990 it has been decided to keep the Carthusian breed officially as a cultural heritage and founded the State-owned company Expasa, which took over the stud and the brand. After years of decline, they tried today to give new brightness to the stud under scientific management.

continue reading:

Horse breeding Philip II The Carthusian or Cartujanos Cartujano – a living legend

 

Excerpt from the book by
Catherine of Leyen, 
Thomas Kilper
Publisher BLV

Die Kartäuser oder Cartujanos

Zu etwa dieser Zeit, nimmt zumindest der Legende nach, auch die Geschichte der Kartäuser Pferde, die lange als rassereine Zuchtlinie galten, ihren Lauf. Im Jahr 1476 vererbte ein Don Alvaro Obertus de la Valeto den Mönchen des Kartäuserordens etwas mehr als 40 Quadratkilometer Land vor den Toren der Stadt Jerez de la Frontera. Viele Autoren sind der Meinung, dass die Zucht der Kartäuserpferde etwa zum gleichen Zeitpunkt begann, zu dem die Mönche dieses Landstück übernahmen. Allerdings zitiert Juan Altamirano in seinem Buch „Historia y Origen del Caballo Espanyol (Geschichte und Herkunft des Spanischen Pferdes) alte Dokumente, aus denen hervorgeht, dass der Viehbestand des Klosters bei einer jährlichen Viehzählung im Jahr 1588 mit vier Pferden angegeben ist. Hätte es wie die Legende behauptet bereits eine florierende Kartäuserzucht gegeben, hätte Philipp II auf seiner dinglichen Suche nach besonders qualitätsvollen Pferden sicherlich Pferde aus dem später für seine Zucht so berühmtem Kloster gekauft: davon ist aber in keinem Dokument die Rede.

Wahrscheinlich hingegen ist, dass die Zucht der Kartäusermönche etwa um 1730 begann, als sie die Pferde eines Schuldners pfändeten: die von Pedro Picasso nämlich, der wiederum 1682 die Zucht der Gebrüder Zamora übernommen hatte. Die Zamoranos wie die Pferde dieser Zucht genannt wurden galten als besonders typ- und qualitätsvoll. Woher sie allerdings stammen ist nicht bekannt. Dementsprechend kann nicht wirklich guten Gewissens von der fünfhundertjährigen Reinzucht des Kartäuserpferdes gesprochen werden. In dem Fall ist sie sofern man überhaupt von Reinzucht sprechen kann erheblich jünger.

Nach dem Einmarsch der französischen Truppen im Jahre 1808 in Spanien ließ Napoleon überall wertvolles Zuchtmaterial requirieren um es zur Blutauffrischung in den heimatlichen Zuchten zu verwenden. Die Kartäusermönche brachten aber einen Groß ihrer Pferde aus züchterischer Sturheit oder Fanatismus in Sicherheit um ihnen dieses Schicksal zu ersparen und ihren wertvollen Pferdebestand zu retten was ihnen auch gelang. 1834 wurden alle kirchlichen Güter verstaatlicht und damit die Kartäusermönche aus Jerez schließlich doch gezwungen ihre Zucht „Kartäuser Pferd“ oder „Cartujanos“ aufzugeben. Die Mönche übergaben Teile ihres Gestehst an verschiedene Züchter aus der Gegend um Jerez de la Frontera.

Ein wesentlicher Teil des Kartäusergestüts soll im Jahre 1835 an Pater D. Pedro Jose Zapata y Caro verkauft worden sein den Gründer des Krankenhauses von Areos de la Frontera. Dieses Gestüt besaß den berühmten Kandarenbrand der bis heute existiert. Wie rein die Kartäuserzucht allerdings von Zapata weitergeführt wurde, ist nicht klar. Die Zapatas deckten die Kartäuserstuten auch mit Hengsten die sich bereits besaßen und die nicht aus der Zucht der Mönche stammten. 1854 übernahm Vincente Romero Garcia die Zucht der Zapatas der in einem Brief an seinen Freund und portugiesischen Hippologen Ruy d Andrade erzählt dass er die Zapateros wiederum mit Pferden Reiner Spanischer Rasse aus der immerhin sehr edlen ursprünglichen Zucht seines Vaters gekreuzt hätte. Vincente Romero fügte dem Kandarenbrand übrigens noch ein „C“ hinzu: seither existieren also zwei alte Kandarenbrände . Für lange Zeit spielten vor allem diese Brände eine Rolle die Bezeichnung „Cartujanos“ für die Andalusier dieser Blutlinie wurden nicht mehr verwendet. Der Kandarenbrand – mit oder ohne C – war und ist, ob der angeblichen legendären Qualität der Pferde die ihn tragen außerordentlich gefragt. Jüngere Zuchten, die diesen Brand benutzten waren Osborne Fernando de Terry, Isabel Merello Viuda de Terry sowie die Rumasa S.A. und heute die staatliche Gesellschaft Expasa.

Fernando de Terry gelangte 1949 in den Besitz des begehrten Brandzeichens, verstarb allerdings schon wenige Jahre später im Jahr 1952. Seine Witwe behielt den Brand noch bis 1981. Danach übernahm die Holding Rumasa S.A. das Gestüt, das nach deren Konkurs jahrelang zum Verkauf stand. Erst 1990 entschloss man sich die Kartäuserzucht offiziell als Kulturgut zu bewahren und gründete die staatliche Gesellschaft Expasa,die das Gestüt und den Brand übernahm. Nach Jahren des Niedergangs versuchte man heute unter wissenschaftlicher Leitung dem Gestüt neuen Glanz zu verleihen.

weiterlesen:

Die Pferdezucht Philipps II Die Kartäuser oder Cartujanos Cartujano – eine lebende Legende

 

Auszug aus dem Buch von

Katharina von der Leyen
Thomas Kilper

Verlag BLV